Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Alright, maybe not a rock star but I want to book blog. I started a blog about my 5o book quest earlier this year on another site but for some reason I’m just not feeling it and thought maybe a change a scenery will help.

I started the 50 book challenge back in April and I’m almost there. With 10 books to go I’ll finish the last 10 here and then start fresh with my 75 book challenge for 2011.  Since I don’t think I’ll move the past 40 books over I’ll just get a quick summery of some of what I got out of the last year.

> Many of my book series including  ~
Agatha Raisin by M.C. Beaton
Death on Demand by Carolyn G. Hart
Grace Chapel Inn by various authors
Ministry in Murder by Emilie Richards
The Lumby Series by Gail Fraser

Thanks to several different book websites I’ve gotten a lot of free books (YAY!!!! free books – when they’re free they just taste better) The best part of getting these books is finding authors I’ve might never have heard of otherwise.

>Among the highlights ~
A Vintage Affair by Isabel Wolff
Coop by Michael Perry
Commuters by Emily Gray Tedrowe
The Financial Lives of the Poets by Jess Walter

Because I belong to a rather non-traditional book club I’ve found several new authors who’s work I really like

>Some of the front runners ~
The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton
A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson
Prayers for Sale by Sandra Dallas
Going to Bend by Diane Hammond
The Irish Country Doctor by Patrick Taylor

Then there are the authors (old and new to me) and books that make me jump up and down clapping my hands and saying “Yes, yes, this is why I read”. The books that make me thank all that is good I know how to read. There were a few this year.

>I got to read Kathryn Stockett this year. I came to “The Help” long after the party started thinking it couldn’t live up to the hype. Boy, was I wrong. I loved every little thing about it. This is the kind of book that makes me remember why I love reading. I actually held my breath a couple of times while I worried what would happen to the characters. This is an author I’ll keep my eye out for.

>I had the privilege of finding Beth Hoffman and “Saving CeeCee Honeycutt” this year. The only down side to falling in love with an author through her first book is waiting for her to write a new book. I may just have to read about CeeCee again. This was such a loving and warm book. The characters reminded me why I love good southern fiction.

>Adriana Trigiani gave me gift this year with another in her Valentine series “Brava, Valentine”. Valentine and her family are so real and wonderful I eat up their world in big scoops. But seriously, there is nothing Adriana Trigiani could write that I wouldn’t read. I’m pretty sure I would read her grocery list and love it. She can do no wrong in my book.

>Finally, I found two new true loves to join Adriana. First is Marjorie Hart who wrote a memoir called “Summer at Tiffany”. It’s small book pack with heart, warmth, humor, and Tiffany.  This will be one of those books I read again and again it’s just so charming. Then there’s Sarah Addsion Allen. What can I say? I saw the cover of her newest book “The Girl Who Chased the Moon” on the Library Things web site and decided to look it up. (I love a good book cover but, more on that later) Well, it just ridiculous how much I now love her. After staying up all night to finish “The Girl…” I went right out and got “Garden Spells” and then “The Sugar Queen”.  Oh my gosh, I love, love, LOVE her books. They have magic, and heart, and warmth, and humor, and I never, never, never want her to stop writing. I want her to be my Scheherazade and tell me stories every night.  My love for her borders on obsession waiting for her to finish her new book which comes out in March of 2011 just in time for my birthday. See she loves me too since she’s giving me the best gift ever. Okay, don’t worry I won’t go stalking her, though I will be waiting at my bookstore for “The Peach Keeper” come March.

Oh, you know I also just reread “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn”. If you haven’t read it or haven’t read it in ages do yourself a favor and read it. You won’t be sorry you did. It is a truly wonderful book in the same vein as “To Kill a Mockingbird” (this is not something I say lightly. I my mind TKAM about the most perfect book ever written).

Well, that’s it. A mini-recap of my reading in 2010. I may come back to write full recaps of the books I mentioned and will add the last books of this year.  There are so many great books out there and I can’t wait to read them all.

