Every Saturday, Booking Mama hosts a feature called Kid Konnection where she features anything related to children’s books. Click on the button above to go to her blog and read reviews of books anywhere from picture books to young adult fiction.

Last week she review a re-release of Emily of Deep Valley by Maud Hart Lovelace. Something Book Club Girl has been blogging about for some time not. Maud Hart Lovelace is also the author of the Betsy and Tacy series – a series I loved and have such fond memories of reading to my daughter when she was little. Some how I missed the Deep Valley series but I was lucky enough to win a copy from Book Club Girl and I’m very excited to at this new find.

So with all the talk of Maud Hart Lovelace and having just reread A Tree Grows in Brooklyn in got me to thinking about my favorite young adult novel Anne of Green Gables.  I love Anne like a bosom friend, a kindred spirit.  The whole series is just wonderful and in my opinion a must read for every girl but this first is my absolute favorite.

Summary: “She’ll have to go back.”

Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert had decided to adopt an orphan. They wanted a nice sturdy boy to help Matthew with the farm chores.  The orphanage sent a girl instead – a mischievous, talkative redhead who the Cuthberts thought would be no use at all.  But as soon as Anne arrived at the snug, white farmhouse called Green Gables, she knew she wanted to stay forever.  And the longer Anne stayed, the harder it was for anyone to imagine Green Gables without her.

Delightful, unpredictable Anne Shirley has been charming readers of all ages, in every part of the world, for over three-quarters of a century. Bestsellers from the moment they were published, the Anne Of Green Gables novels have allowed generations of children to grow up right along with Anne.
— Random House

Anne (with an E, as it’s “so much more distinguished”) is a remarkable girl with an imagination and love of life that can’t be crushed. Along with her bosom friend and kindred spirit Diana Berry she rushes head strong into adventure. But Anne isn’t simply a Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm kind of girl – she’s had a hard life before she came to Green Gables. Her sunny attitude and her use of her imagination to see the world around her as wondrous and dramatic comes from her longing for a happier life. The love and security she finally finds with Marilla and Mathew is all the more touching because you know how much it is what she desperately needs.

Anne is my car book – the book I keep in the glove compartment of my car because I can pick it up anytime and start reading and know exactly whats going on. I laugh out loud when while trying to dye her hateful red hair a black it turns a horrible shade of green. I cringe when she mistakes liniment for vanilla baking a cake.  And I know that her hatred of Gilbert Blythe for having called her carrots will not last for ever and knowing that makes me happy.

There so much for girls to get out of this book. Anne is loving and brave, reckless and headstrong, she is a loyal friend and with her in their lives Marilla and Mathew will never have a dull moment. Anne isn’t perfect but her heart is always in the right place. She can be mean but she’s always sees the error of her ways. The lessons Anne learns are lessons we could all use to learn. If you have a little girl in your life or if you haven’t read them yourself, do her or yourself a favor and read this series. If you can’t read them all be sure to read Anne of Green Gables. You’ll be happy you did.

