Tags

, ,

I found this on Bermudaonion’s blog, click on the button to the left to head on over to her site to find out more. Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)

This week’s (my first) words come from Red Hook Road by Ayelet Waldman.

  • machetaynista – “She was once again off to negotiate her machetaynista, the woman whom her native language did not even require her to have a relationship.”

I couldn’t find this exact word. I’m guessing it some from mechetunim which means in-laws (specifically parents of the couple). I’m going to hazard to guess machetaynista refers to the mother.

  • skewbald – “In the mirror his skewbald face smiled back at him.”

Skewbald means having white spots or patches on a color other than black. Usually referring to horses.

  • dub – “But Uncle Don was a regular dub and it was never all that safe for us to be out with him.”

There are several different definitions of dub (most I knew) but I think “to blunder” was the meaning here. It seems to be a word used by golfers, which explains why I’ve never heard it.

  • fo’c’sle – “The Alden’s large and elegant stateroom was in an unusual location — at the bow, in what would ordinarily be the fo’c’sle.

Fo’c’sle is, as far as I can tell, a wall-to-wall berth or a large room on a boat.

  • bradykinesia – “His bradykinesia had been particularly acute since this morning, his movements slower even than normal.”

Bradykinesia – is a slowed ability to start or continue movement.

I read Red Hook Road in standard book form but, I’ve started reading every now and then on my husband’s Nook. While I’m not completely sold on e-books I do like the Look up Word feature. It sure does make quick work of the odd word here and there you don’t know. Though with this feature and the internet I worry kids won’t be able to use a standard dictionary. But, I guess that is a discussion for another day.

