Tags

, , , ,

Every Saturday, Booking Mama hosts a feature called Kid Konnection — a regular weekend feature about anything related to children’s books. Click on the button above to head over to her blog for some great book reviews.

This weekend I’m going old school and talking about a book I can remember as one of the first books I ever read.

While browsing through Paperback Book Swap (an awesome website, if you haven’t been you should) I saw someone had posted Morris Goes to School. I had such a sense memory. I can vividly remember reading about Morris and his adventures going to school.

Summary:  A moose in school?

Morris the moose can’t read or count. So he decides to go to school. Morris is thrilled after a day of A, B, C’s, 1, 2, 3’s, hoof-painting, and make-believe — he can finally count gumdrops!

The story of Morris learning to read and count so he can more easily buy gumdrops was so much fun. The illustrations are simple, warm, and funny. Morris’ big happy face can still make me smile.

Part of the I Can Read Series, which includes the Biscuit series – a great set of first reads- and the fabulous Danny and the Dinosaur, Morris Goes to School should keep new readers interested and entertained while they learn reading basics.

I don’t know how many of the I Can Read books have passed through my house in all the years my kids were little and through all my many day care kids. But, remembering Morris Goes to School, who is on his way to my house thanks to Paperback Book Swap, was a walk down memory lane. I can’t wait to get a chance to introduce Morris to the little ones in my house.

I took a quick break while writing this and my glorious daughter –  who I will now call the Glorious E (I’m a little fond of her, can you tell?) – sat down at the computer and saw what I was blogging about and said “Oh, Morris Goes to School. I love that book”. When I told her I just ordered a copy so we would own it again she was so excited. Now, keep in mind she’s 19, almost 20.  It amazes me that one of my first reads was one of her first reads and just may be one of her son or daughter’s first read.

