Tags

,

Summery: Josey Cirinni is sure of three things: winter is her favorite season, she’s a sorry excuse for a Southern belle, and her passion for the man she loves is best kept a secret, even from him. Josey has grudgingly settled into an uneventful life in her mother’s house, but her one consolation is the secret stockpile of sugary treats and paperback romances she keeps in her closet. One morning, she opens her closet for a sweet, but finds Della Lee Baker hiding there instead. Della Lee is a local waitress on the run who is one part nemesis—and two parts fairy godmother. Under Della Lee’s guidance, Josey is soon living in a world where the color red has startling powers, and passion is so real it can make eggs fry in their cartons. And that’s just for starters.

The Sugar Queen in another magical book from Allen. I love each character gets a full story-from the woman in the closet to the Cirrini’s housekeeper. They all have the touch of magic I love in her books. There are so many wonderful aspects to them that just light up the story. Does it get any better than having a character that books literally find, they appear when she needs them even if she doesn’t want them. They simply appear and follow her around. Even the less likable characters find a satisfying ending.

I will say there were no big surprised in the story. I saw where it was going but I really didn’t mind. This wasn’t a story of surprise endings. It’s a charming story of wonderful characters and that’s why I loved it so much.

I don’t think I could say I have a favorite among the three books Allen has now (can’t wait for the fourth, but at least it will be a fine birthday present to myself) I love them all equally. They all will definitely be on my reread list.

