Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

After a long look at all the Challenges out there this year I think I have finally settled on the ones I’m joining (for now). I have the feeling I may add more as the year progresses.

First up:

Hosted by Diane @ Bibliophile By the Sea this is one I really need so I can finally clear off some shelf space (for new books, of course). Here’s how it works:

  • Challenge runs from January 1 – December 31, 2011.
  • Read books from your own shelves, and then pass the books on to someone else: a friend, relative, the library, used book store, swap them, just as long as the book leaves your house once it has been read.
  • Decide on your goal (12 is the minimum – no maximum). Cross over books are allowed.
  • Grab the button and do a post about the challenge.
  • Keep a running list of the books you’ve read and passed on.
  • Leave a comment with a link to your post at Diane’s blog and your entered.
  • Have Fun and GOOD LUCK!

I’m committing to getting at least the minimum of 12 but I’m really shooting for 20.

Next up:

Beth Fish Reads is hosting this challenge and I love the idea of trying to find books that fit each category. Here’s how this one works:

Between January 1 and December 31, 2011, read one book in each of the following categories:

  1. A book with a number in the title: First to Die, Seven Up, Thirteen Reasons Why
  2. A book with jewelry or a gem in the title: Diamond Ruby, Girl with a Pearl Earring, The Opal Deception
  3. A book with a size in the title: Wide Sargasso Sea, Small Wars, Little Bee
  4. A book with travel or movement in the title: Dead Witch Walking, Crawling with Zombies, Time Traveler’s Wife
  5. A book with evil in the title: Bad Marie, Fallen, Wicked Lovely
  6. A book with a life stage in the title: No Country for Old Men, Brideshead Revisited, Bog Child

The book titles are just suggestions, you can read whatever book you want to fit the category.

Other Things to Know

  • Books may be any form (audio, print, e-book).
  • Books may overlap other challenges.
  • Books may not overlap categories; you need a different book for each category.
  • Creativity for matching the categories is not only allowed but encouraged.
  • You do not have to make a list of books before hand.
  • You do not have to read through the categories in any particular order.

I’ve already have an idea for two titles so I’m on my way with this one. If you’re interested head on over to Beth Fish Reads to sign up.

Because two is not enough I’ve also signed on to:

Margot at Joyfully Retired is hosting this delicious challenge. I love a good food-centric book so this one is going to be fun. Here are the details:

1. Decide how many food books you want to read in 2011 and choose your level of reading.  Keep in mind this is a challenge – a throw-down. Go a bit beyond what you think you can really do. Levels:

  • Nibbler: 1 to 3 books
  • Bon Vivant: 4 to 6 books
  • Epicurean: 7 to 9 books
  • Gourmet: 10 to 12
  • Glutton: More than 12

2. Grab the challenge button and write a post on your blog so we can spread the word. No blog? That’s okay. Sign up in the comments section.

3. As you read each book for the challenge, come back here and tell us about it. On January 1st I’ll provide pages so you can post links for your reviews. Non-bloggers will use the comment section.

Guidelines:

  • You don’t need a pre-selected list of books.
  • Crossing over with other challenges is fine.
  • Any book format is allowed (print, audio, ebook)

Prizes:

To encourage you to return here and tell us what you read, there will be a prize at the end of each quarter. I’ll use Random.org to select from all the books you tell us about. Each book read will be one more chance to win.

After thinking it over and deciding it’s suppose to be a challenge I’m going for Epicurean.  Even if  I fall short I’ll have fun trying.  Click on over to Joyfully Retired and sign up. (Come on, she’s giving away prizes. How fun is that?)

I love my local library like crazy. I visit a lot and I love hanging out there so this next one is right up my ally:

2011 Support Your Local Library Challenge

Jamie @ The Bookshelf Junkie is hosting this challenge that I hope will encourage people to use their library more often. Here’s the details for this one:

1. Anyone can join. You don’t need a blog to participate. Just create a post for the challenge and link to your challenge post in the linky below.

–Non-Bloggers: Post your list of books in the comment section of the wrap-up post.

2. There are four levels to this challenge…Pick your poison:

–The Mini – Check out and read 30 library books.

–“Fun” Size – Check out and read 40 library books.

–Jumbo Size – Check out and read 50 library books.

–Mega Size – Check out and read 51+ library books.
(Aim high. As long as you read 30 by the end of 2011, you are a winner.)

3. Audio, Re-reads, eBooks, YA, Young Reader – basically any book counts just as long as it is checked out from the library. Books MUST be checked out like with a library card, books purchased at a library DO NOT count.

4. No need to list your books in advance. You may select books as you go. Even if you list them now, you can change the list if needed.

5. Crossovers from other reading challenges count.

6. Challenge begins January 1st 2011 and goes thru December 31 2011.

If this sounds like a challenge for you go over the Jamie’s blog, The Bookshelf Junkie and sign up. I’m signing up for “Fun” size myself but know I will at least get “Mini”.

I just rediscovered Audiobooks in 2010 so I decided to add this challenge:

Teresa’s Reading Corner is hosting this audiobook challenge and I’m looking forward to getting started. Here’s what you need to know:

Welcome to the 2011 Audio Book Challenge.  The 2010 edition was hosted by Alaine of Queen of Happy Endings. When Alaine was looking for someone to take over for her, I happily volunteered.  The 2011 Audio Book Challenge will run from January 1, 2011 through December 31, 2011.
I’m going to go ahead and continue with the same levels that were previously established:
Curious:       3 Audio Books
Fascinated:  6 Audio Books
Addicted:  12 Audio Books
Obsessed: 20 Audio Books
Choose your level of participation and add your name.  Over the course of the year I’m going to try to put together some fun things.  If you have any suggestions, feel free to let me know.

Go over to Teresa’s Reading Corner to sign up. I’m signing up for “Curious” because my two choices are long so I’ll have to see how they go.

And finally, though not technically a challenge:

Book Club Girl is hosting a Mad About Maisie, Maisie Dobbs read-along. Here’s the schedule for when discussion questions will be posted:

January 14th – Maisie Dobbs
January 31st – Birds of a Feather
February 14th – Pardonable Lies
February 22nd – Paperback edition of The Mapping of Love and Death goes on sale
February 28th – Messenger of Truth
March 14th – An Incomplete Revenge
March 22nd – Hardcover of A Lesson in Secrets goes on sale
March 28th- Among the Mad
April 11th- The Mapping of Love and Death
April 25th – A Lesson in Secrets

I just love Maisie and can’t wait for this read-along. There’s still time to sign up at Book Club Girl’s blog.

I thought I was done and then I found this:

Here are the details:

  • Timeline: 01 Jan 2011 – 31 Dec 2011
  • Rules: To read TWELVE (12) mystery & suspense novels in 2011 (12 is the minimum but you can read more if you wish!)
  • You don’t have to select your books ahead of time, you can just add them as you go. Also if you do list them upfront you can change them, nothing is set in stone! The books you choose can crossover into other challenges you have on the go.
  • You can join anytime between now and the later part of next year.
  • At the beginning of Jan 2011, you will find a link to specific month to add your reviews. There will be a monthly prize too courtesy of the lovely Simon & Schuster – you must be signed up to the challenge and add the link to your review to be entered into the monthly prize draw.
Now, there are many different sub-genres of mystery and suspense – you can choose from the numerous sub-genres, from cosy mysteries such as Agatha Christie to the more hard-boiled kind like V I Warshawski by Sara Paretsky, or romantic suspense written by the likes of Linda Howard, forensic crime such as those written by Kathy Reichs and even paranormal/supernatural suspense such as Kelley Armstrong. I’m sure this challenge will have something for everyone! 🙂

Go to the Book Chick City blog for more details including a giveaway. I’m reading my first mystery so I’m well on my way.

Well, that’s it so far. Since I’ve never done this before I don’t know if I’m being overly ambitious or if I’m underselling myself. I guess I’ll have to wait and see. I know I’ll have a good time though. Wish me luck.

