Tags

,

A powerful debut from a new literary talent, this novel tells the story of a Jewish family confronting the tumult of the 1960s—and the secrets that bind its members together

Jackson Sassaport is a man who often finds himself in the middle. Whether torn between Stella, his beloved and opinionated Yankee wife, and Katherine Marie, the African American girl who first stole his teenage heart; or between standing up for his beliefs and acquiescing to his prominent Jewish family’s imperative to not stand out in the segregated South, Jackson learns to balance the secrets and deceptions of those around him. But one fateful night in 1960 will make the man in the middle reconsider his obligations to propriety and family, and will start a chain of events that will change his life and the lives of those around him forever.

Home in the Morning follows Jackson’s journey from his childhood as a coddled son of the Old South to his struggle as a young man eager to find his place in the civil rights movement while protecting his family. Flashing back between his adult life as a successful lawyer and his youth, Mary Glickman’s riveting novel traces the ways that race and prejudice, family and love intertwine to shape our lives. — from Open Road Media.com

I was lucky enough to win an e-copy of Home in the Morning from Book Club Girl to prepare for her Blog Talk Radio, Book Club Girl on the Air interview with Mary Glickman. Sadly, the day after I won it my Nook power cord died and I wasn’t able to read it in time for the interview. I did listen anyway and it only made me want to read the book more. (You can click on the link to hear the interview)

Well, I was finally able to charge my Nook and the first thing I did was to read Home in the Morning.

Logically, if I thought about it, I would know there had to be a Jewish community in the South but when I read the premise of this book I was a little surprised by it. I guess I just the think Southern Jew right off the bat , but when I think about it “Shalom, y’all” does kind of rock.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I loved the characters (okay, not so much Bubba Ray) and I found the story captivating. I had been reading a lot of easy reads over Christmas so I liked that the story wasn’t a straight linear tale. Bits and pieces of Jackson’s life are told as needed to fill in the events happening in the beginning of the book.

It was very interesting reading about what it was like to be Jewish in the South at the start of the Civil Rights Movement. I was fascinated by the tenuous accord that was made by the Jewish community to fit in with their neighbors and by the upset this new movement must have meant to them Whether or not to take sides, which Jackson most definitely did.

I loved the women in this book so much. Stella could have been a caricature of the do-gooder Yankee in the South, who bulldozes over everyone in her path, of just to good to be true. Instead she was multi-layered and very real. I absolutely loved her. And Katherine Marie, who could have been easily a one note character was warm, deep, and very well rounded. There’s no way you can’t realize why Jackson and Stella are so drawn to her. Even Jackon’s mother Missy Fine Sassaport could have been a cartoon of the typical Southern belle, instead Glickman created a woman who tried to see the best in her sons, but saw their faults as well as her own, and tried to raise them the best she could.

I was totally engrossed in this story, I’m still getting used to reading on the Nook and I couldn’t put this down.  I was so sad it had to end and would love to know more about all the characters. I hope there is more to come from Miss. Glickman.

