Tags

,

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Kathy @ Bermudaonion weblog where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)

This weeks words are from Birds of a Feather by Jacqueline Winspear.

coterie – “Charlotte and Lydia were part of the same–coterie, I think you’d call them.”

A coterie is a small group of people with shared interests or tastes. I actually knew this word, I just didn’t know the spelling. But, then again I’m no spelling genius so I’m not surprised.

Vimto -“Sandra, I wonder if you could pack me up something for me to eat in the car, perhaps a piece of pork pie, or a cheese sandwich–and a bottle of Vitmto or something like that?”

Thanks to Wikipedia I found that Vimto is a purple soft drink originating from the United Kingdom. The Purple drink part concerned me then I read it was a mix of grapes, raspberries, and black currants and I thought it sounded kind of yummy.

What new words to did you learn?

