Tags

, , ,

Summary: “A deathbed plea from his wife leads Sir Cecil Lawton to seek the aid of Maisie Dobbs, psychologist and investigator. As Maisie soon learns, Agnes Lawton never accepted that her aviator son was killed in the Great War, a torment that led her not only to the edge of madness but also to the doors of those who practice the dark arts and commune with the spirit world.” Maisie accepts the assignment – determined to prove Ralph Lawton either dead or alive – and in doing so is plunged into a case that tests her spiritual strength, as well as her regard for her mentor, Maurice Blanche. The mission also brings her together once again with her college friend Priscilla Evernden, who served in France and who lost three brothers to the war – one of whom, it turns out, had an intriguing connection to the missing Ralph Lawton. — Goodreads

Another Maisie Dobbs hit as far as I’m concerned. I was worried the mystery portion of the story was a little far fetched but Winspear made it work. Not only did the mystery work but this chapter saw Maisie start to really heal and grow. And Pris was back. Yippeee.

Maisie travels to France to find out what happened to not only Ralph Lawton but also her good friend Priscilla’s brother Peter. While in France Maisie finally has to deal with the aftermath of her experiences in the war. It was a relief to me she broke down, I felt she would never really be able to move on and grow until she finally dealt with all her pent up emotions about all she had been through.  It did break my heart she had to lose a little of her trust in Maurice during this whole ordeal but I think in the long run they will have a better relationship.

I was so happy to see Priscilla play such a large role in this book and I hope there’s more of her to come. I think she’s such an important friend for Maisie. Her only real girlfriend, in fact. And like a true girlfriend she doesn’t let Maisie get away with any of her typical diversionary tricks. Pris drags Maisie out into the world and is forcing her to start to live a real and full life. I think Maisie is going to need a lot of help as she blossoms and I hope Pris is the girl to help in the future novels.

I wonder about Maisie’s love life. I love Andrew Dene and think he brings a lot of humor and lightheartedness into Maisie’s life, which she desperately needs. But, I don’t know if he’ll be the fellow she ends up with in the end. And I don’t know what I feel about this yet. I guess I haven’t decided if I’m Team Dene or Team Stratton (darn you Twilight, I don’t even life you and you still have influence over me). I think it will be good for Maisie to take her time and play the field a little. I just wish she would except a date with Inspector Stratton. I think they’ll find they have much in common.

I’m looking forward to the next book in the series thanks to Book Club Girl I have my very own copy on the way to read. I believe Pardonable Lies was a big turning point for Maisie. I think she’ll finally be able to move on and start living life a little more and making more connections with people.

Speaking of Book Club Girl, she’s hosting a discussion of Pardonable Lies today in conjunction with her I’m Mad for Maisie Read-Along so please head over there and follow along. There is quite a bit I didn’t mention about the book to discuss and a lot of great thoughts on the book being talked about. If you haven’t read the book yet it should whet your appetite to dig in.

 

 

