Tags

,

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Kathy @ Bermudaonion weblog where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)

 

This weeks words are from Messenger of Truth by Jacqueline Winspear. Thanks go out to Book Club Girl for her shout out to my words from Maisie. I love the British slang I find in these books. 

Shank’s pony – “As they walked down Albemarle Street, their talk was of the terrible state of London traffic and how it was easier now to ride by tube or travel by “shank’s pony” rather than use the motor car or even a bus.”

Shank’s pony is British slang for walking.

Dekko – “Come in ‘ere and ‘ave a dekko at this ‘ere trick door.”

Dekko is slang for a look or a glance.

Likker – “Maisie and Billy took a brief sojourn in a pie and mash shop, wher a hearty helping of ell pie, mashed potato and parsley “likker” brought some color back to Billy’s hollow cheeks.”

I found Parsley Likker described as Pasley Liquor which grossed me out until I further researched and found it actually meant parsley gravy.

You know this was the first of two books I read last week mentioning eel pie. Has anyone eaten eel pie? I think I would have to be past starving to eat ell pie but maybe someone could enlighten me.

There’s still time to join Book Club Girl’s discussion on Messenger of Truth. Navigate over and read some great insights to the book in the series.

What new words have you learned?

 

 

