Tags

, ,

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Kathy @ Bermudaonion weblog where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)

 

Again in honor of my first giveaway coming tomorrow this week’s words are from Miss Scarlet’s School of Patternless Sewing by Kathy Cano-Murillo.

I’ve mentioned in earlier WWW posts I’ve learned a great many British slang words while reading the Maisie Dobbs books. Now reading Miss Scarlet’s I’ve learned some new Spanish words. I thought I picked up a bit while living in Southern California but not so much really. Thanks to Kathy for putting a glossary in the back of the book I was able to find most of the words.

Caldo – “So, whipping up a batch of Nana’s chicken caldo, Scarlet looked up Rosa’s registration form and  copied the address-a fancy block of million-dollar lofts in central Phoenix called Châteaux on Central.”

Caldo is soup.

Escúchame – “Escúchame, mija,” Rosa said.”

Escúchame means listen to me.

Chula – “Scarlet came up from behind Rosa and hugged Mary Theresa. “Hi, chula, you okay?””

Chula means pretty. cute, beautiful. (I had to look this one up in the Urban dictionary-I think it’s more Spanglish.)

(Quick note-all of the quotes are from an Advanced Uncorrected Proof the final copy may vary.)

Okay, one and all come back tomorrow for my review and details of my first giveaway.  This is really a wonderful book and I can’t wait to be able to give someone a chance to enjoy it.

So, what new words have you learned?

