Tags

,

I’m still playing catch-up from my Spring Break camping trip.  We has an almost perfect time. The only gray cloud over our trip involved my son’s best friend. The trip includes my family, my sisters’ families, and usually a friend or two. This was my son’s friend’s first camping trip and poor guy had the worst allergy attack I’ve ever seen. We had a particularly rainy winter so the campsite was pollen central. It was the most pitiful thing I’ve ever seen. Poor guy ended up having to go home early but with the promise of another  camping trip once our pollinated spring is over.

So, without further ado here is Teaser Tuesday………

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This week’s tease is from The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley.

“Oh, scissors!” I said again. I should have to put off my researches until another time. As I stood outside in Cow Lane, it occurred to my that Heaven must be a place where the library is open twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week.”

I love the expression “Oh, scissors!” I’m going to have to add it to my vocabulary.


…..and Wondrous Words Wednesday:

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Kathy @ Bermudaonion weblog where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.

This week’s word is also from The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie from Alan Bradley. I probably had more words I didn’t know but listened to this so I didn’t pick up on them .

Dekko – “All right,” he said at last, “let’s have a dekko.”

Dekko is a look or glance.

So, what new words did you add to your vocabulary this week?

