Tags

,

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Kathy @ Bermudaonion weblog where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)

I’m always amazed at the amount of words I don’t know. I thought I was pretty literate but boy do these authors think of some great words. This week’s words come from Galore by Michael Crummey.

Capelin – “Mary Tryphena Devine brought him bread and dried capelin that he left to gather bluebottles and mold on the floor.

Capelin is a fish in the smelt family.

Tilt and Droke – “It was two hours of hard travel to make what was normally a half hour trip over the Tolt and down to Mrs. Gallery’s tilt, tucked back in a spindly droke of woods above the harbor and away from the other houses around the bay.”

Tilt, I had to really look for tilt but it appears to be slang for house (which is what a gathered from the way it was used).

Droke is, according to dictionary.com, Canadian slang for a valley with steeply sloping sides

So, now I can add Canadian slang to my multi-lingual reading vocabulary. What new words did you learn this week?

