Tags

,

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Kathy @ Bermudaonion weblog where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)

We interrupt this Wondrous Word Wednesday with some breaking parental bragging. I’m proud to announce as of this fall I will be the proud parent of a transfer student to the University of California at Santa Barbara.

After much consideration my daughter has decided to transfer to  UCSB. This will be her first time away (she attended her first two years close to and lived at home) and I’m going to be very brave. The good news is she will only be 3 hours from home. Which is one lovely train trip where much reading can happen. A win/win for mommy. Oh, and her boyfriend also attends which is a good thing for us because we love him and we know he’ll keep her pretty safe. (No pressure Sky-net)

Now back to our regularly scheduled WWW:

This week’s words are from Left Early, Took My Dog by Kate Atkinson:

Bhuna – “And a chicken bhuna that and a bag of Thornton’s Viennese truffles.”

Bhuna is first and foremost a cooking process where spices are gently fried in plenty of oil to bring out their flavour.

Punters – “Tracy liked to get up close and personal with the punters.”

Punter is slang for paying guests or customers.

Gormless – “Made her arms seem gormless, but Tracy guessed adenoidal.”

Gormless means lacking intelligence (stupid).

Doolally – “Tilly supposed the girl thought she was doolally.”

Doolally means gone mad, crazy behavior. (Isn’t this one just great?)

Oh, since I’ve mentioned before the words I love we can’t really use here (I think maybe Southern girls could use it), I love the word frocks and wish I could use it without sounding, well like someone who shouldn’t use the word frocks.

By the way, has anyone been watching Masterpiece Classics this season? They’ve been rocking it this season. First Downton Abbey (which is ridiculously good, I’ve re-watched it twice already), then they killed with Upstairs/Downstairs (another stellar effort), and now South Riding. I’ve only seen one episode so far, but loving it.

So, what new words did you learn this week?

