Tags

,

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Kathy @ Bermudaonion weblog where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)

This week’s words are my last Maisie Dobb’s words for a while. I have reached the end of the available books. Sniffle.  I want more but at lease I know there are more to come, thank goodness.

I’ve been blessed with a husband who knows stuff. By which I mean when I ask “what does (fill in the blank) mean” more often than not he knows what it means. So, I was pretty surprised he didn’t know the answer when I asked him about this first term.

Moral Sciences – “…..and Liddicote began to recruit students, who come from the seven corners of the world to better their proficiency in the English language and to study English and European literature and the moral sciences.”

Human science (also, humanistic social science, moral science and human sciences) refers to the investigation of human life and activities via a phenomenological methodology that acknowledges the validity of both sensory and psychological experience. It includes but is not necessarily limited to humanistic modes of inquiry within fields of the social sciences and humanities, including history, sociology, anthropology, and economics. -from Wikipedia

And then not so intellectual I have:

Twaddle – “Oh, I hate all this old-fashion twaddle, you know, that a woman has to do this or that when she’s married.”

Twaddle means trivial or foolish speech or writing, nonsense.

Lummy – “Lummy, I don’t know.”

Lummy is an exclamation of surprise or dismay.

Conchie – “Him? Good-for-nothing conchie, that’s what he was.”

Conchie is a disparaging term for a conscientious objector.

Well, did you learn any new words this week?

