I was sitting here on Thursday afternoon not quite ready to write a review. I’ve been in a reading slump so I’m kind of behind on my reviews. So, I was trying to figure out what to fill my Friday post with when I noticed the snack I was having. Nothing special just Melba Toast and Roasted Red Pepper Hummus. Now, if you would have told me 20 years ago my idea of a snack would be Melba Toast and Hummus I would have thought your were mad. In my 20’s a snack was either fried or chocked full of sugar.

That got me to thinking how my tastes have changed. Not only in food but in reading. When I was younger I never really read much non-fiction. I enjoy memoirs, biographies, and history. I never read Historical fiction and now it’s a favored genre. And while I used to love fantasy and romance now, really not so much. Don’t get me wrong some things haven’t changed.

Now don’t get me wrong, just like my food tastes some things never change. I will always have Ice Cream and cozy mysteries in my house. And I will still eat almost anything wrapped in bacon and still read almost any Southern fiction.

There are novels I read and loved when I was younger I won’t read now for fear of losing my love of them. I must have read Camille a million times in High school and now I fear re-reading it and not just not loving it but thinking it was overwrought. John Knowles A Separate Peace was once my all time favorite book I haven’t read it in decades because I know I going to wonder what I was thinking.

So, how have your reading tastes changed? Are there genres you used to read you just can’t stomach anymore? And what’s you Melba Toast and Hummus? What do you find yourself reading you never thought you would?

