Tags

,

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Kathy @ Bermudaonion weblog where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)

This week’s words come from The Reservoir by John Milliken Thompson.

Gutta-percha – “It’s like a cold gutta-percha, and the hand is clutching mud.”

From what I can find it looks like gutta-percha is a kind of sap used to make latex. I’m not sure how it works in the time frame. I think there may be another meaning. I have to keep looking.

Foolscap – “I picked it up, and it opened on a folded piece of foolscap–a letter dated the previous week and addressed to Ma.”

Foolscap is an 8 1/2 by 13 1/2 piece of paper.

Did you learn any new words this week?

 

