Tags

, , ,

Then you’re missing out on great television. If you haven’t seen season one then stop reading this right now and find it somewhere online and start watching then start watching season 2. You won’t regret it. Okay, you might regret that when you’re done with the first two seasons there’s going to be a long wait until season 3 (Yes, thank Heaven there will be a season 3).

My love for this series seriously knows no bounds. I’ve watched season 1 at least 3 times and I’m on my second round of season 2 as it plays on PBS. Thanks to my daughter we watched all of second season online over Christmas break and for those of you who are waiting, Hold on cause it’s a roller coaster ride of emotions. Characters you thought you hated may just surprise you. But not to worry Maggie Smith knocks it out of the ballpark again.

Here’s a top ten of The Dowager Countess Best Bits (#3 is my favorite):

I won’t give anything away but I will warn to keep the Kleenex close at hand, you’re going to need it.

Also, I have a total crush on Mr. Bates and if I didn’t love Anna so much too I’d fight her to the fictional death for him. Okay, since this is a book blog at let you in on this if you don’t already know. Lady Fiona Carnarvon of Highclere Castle, where Downton Abbey is filmed has written a book titled: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey which tells the story of an American Heiress married to a British Aristocrat. There’s a far less flattering tale of Lady Almina titled: The Life and Secrets of Almina Carnarvon by William Cross. I haven’t read either of these but it may be interesting to see where the story was born.

 

Now, get out there and watch some Downton.

 

 

