Tags

, , ,

(From Goodreads) One morning legendary wit Dorothy Parker discovers someone under Manhattan’s famed Algonquin Round Table. A little early for a passed out drunk, isn’t it? But he’s not dead drunk, just dead. When a charming writer from Mississippi named Billy Faulkner becomes a suspect in the murder, Dorothy decides to dabble in a little detective work, enlisting her literary cohorts.

It’s up to the Algonquins to outwit the true culprit-preferably before cocktail hour-and before the clever killer turns the tables on them.

I’ve mentioned before that I really enjoy cozy mysteries where actual historical figures solve the crimes. I know this is truly a guilty pleasure of mine but, so be it. In this series Dorothy Parker, Robert Benchley, and other members of the famous Algonquin Round Table solve the mysteries. Preposterous? Absolutely. Good fun? You bet. Now I will admit it’s no great brain teaser. I figured out and you will probably figure out “who did it” pretty darn early. But that’s okay because it’s really not the point of this series. It seems the author has a good grasp on her characters (at least what I know about them) and that’s really why I read these types of books.

If you’re a cozy reader and don’t mind author’s taking license with real people then this if a fun, quick read. I have the second in the series on my night stand that I hope will live up to this first outing.

On a side note does anyone but me know who Robert Benchley is? He was a newspaper man and had a successful career as a comedian in movie shorts in the 30s.

With awards season coming up here is his 1935 Oscar winner for Best Short Subject titled How to Sleep.

