Tags

,

Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Kathy @ Bermudaonion weblog where we share new (to us) words that we’ve encountered in our reading.  If you want to play along, grab the button, and join the fun!  (Don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you’re participating.)

Well it’s been forever since I’ve done a WWW and here’s my sad excuse. I don’t know how you all mark of words but I use Post-its to mark the page and then go back when I’m all done with the book. Well, my daughter is the Post-it girl of our family so I always got my Post-its from her. Since she’s been away at school I haven’t had my Post-it resource and they’re one of those things I don’t think to get until after I’ve been to the store. I finally remembered and so I’m back to marking my words. Of course, the funny thing is this weeks words come from a book I read on my Nook and so I didn’t need to use my Post-its. Silly me.

Anyway, this week’s words are from Elegy for Eddie by Jacqueline Winspear.

Weskit – “Here they were, five men she hadn’t seen since girlhood, waiting on her doorstep, all dressed in their Sunday best, in the flamboyant way of the cockney costermonger: a bright silk scarf at the neck, a collarless shirt, a weskit of wool and silk, and the best corduroy or woolen trousers, all topped off with a jacket–secondhand, of course, probably even third-or fourth hand.”

A weskit is a vest, an alteration of waistcoat. Which made sense once I heard it.

Anglepoise – “She even pulled the Anglepoise lamp from the top of the desk and directed the beam onto the dark interior wood, checking top, sides, and corners.”

Instead of explaining I’ll just show you a picture. (from Wikipedia)

Haslett – “I made some haslett meat loaf yesterday; it’s very tasty sliced with tomato.”

Haslett is an herbed pork meatloaf.

What new words entered your vocabulary lately?

