Tags

, , , , ,

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This week’s tease comes from One Thousand White Women: The Journal of May Dodd by Jim Fergus.

“I leave this record for my dear children, Hortense and William, in the event that they never see their loving mother again and so that they might one day know the truth of my unjust incarceration, my escape from Hell, and into whatever in to come in these pages……

23 March 1875

Today is my birthday, and I’ve received the greatest gift of all–freedom!”

I’m reading this for my book club and I’m really loving it.

And now a quick word about the Los Angeles Times Festival of Books, which I attended this past Sunday. I have to say overall I was rather disappointed. It was more like a disorganized street fair with a book theme than an event sponsored by a major newspaper in a major city.

The booths weren’t set up in any noticeable order, for instance, the booths for Sisters in Crime, Ladies of Mystery, and several other mystery booths were placed no where near one another. There was no flow to the set up of the booths, some where here, some were there and you found yourself backtracking in order to see everything.

The Cooking area was a surprise too. You would think in LA there would be dozens of Celebrity Chefs available to demonstrate and have books to sell. But this was a disappointment too. There was only really one cookbook sales area and only a few chef demos. I did get to see Debbie Lee who was one of my favorites (though she didn’t win) on the Next Food Network Star. But there were good food trucks there and my sister and I shared a great Lobster Roll and some delicious Butter Chicken, so that was good.

But the upside was I got to see Florence Henderson, Betty White, and best of all Julie Andrews-who looks fabulous. We saw her in the Target Children’s area, which was the only area that was well done. Oh, and we watched Laura Numeroff, of If You Give a Mouse a Cookie fame.

According to a very reliable source (thanks Ti) when this event was held at UCLA it was a much better event. It’s now at  USC, which is a beautiful campus but they need to reorganize this event.

Well, back to Teaser Tuesday-what are you going to tease with this week?

Oh, and if you haven’t and are interested scroll down or click here to enter for a chance to win a copy of Calico Joe by John Grisham.

