I read a little this weekend. I ditched the not enjoying book for a fast read of “A Fatal Likeness”  by Lynn Shepherd since I’ll lose it on my Nook in a couple of days. I’m liking it a little better than the other book but there are some things that are bothering me.

The rest of the weekend was spent in Back to School activities. We start this coming Wednesday. It’s way to early for me, I love summer and the easy schedule. With a older boy I just tell him to not starve himself and I best not be able to smell him from another room.

Saturday was time for senior pictures which necessitated a quick shopping trip for dress pants since someone sprung up and out and no longer fits into any old dress pants. Unfortunately there was enough time to any other shopping, which meant another trip on Sunday. Nothing like spending the afternoon standing outside a fitting room with half a dozen moms waiting for their gargantuan sons to come out for assessment.

Shopping with my boy is a little different than with my daughter. I don’t remember have this conversation, ever, with my daughter. It goes something like this:

Me: Do you like it?
Son: Yeah, it’s okay.
Me: Will you wear it?
Son: Yeah, I guess I’ll wear it.
Me: If I buy it will it sit in your drawer, never to see the light of day?
Son: Uhhh, probably.
Me: Then why did you say you’d wear it?
Son: I don’t know.

Sheesh!

But thankfully we came away with 6 new pairs of pants, 4 new t-shirts, a dress shirt and another pair of shorts. Our weather is just starting to heat up after weeks of wonderful weather (fingers crossed it will come back) so shorts are a necessity.

This week I plan on getting back into a reading groove. After two groove killer books I’m hoping for a roll starting with Bellman & Black by Diane Setterfield. I loved The Thirteenth Tale so I have high hopes for this one.

So what was your weekend like? What are your reading plans this week?

Here’s the preview senior picture:
Brett senior 3

 

